RSS

Inspiration From a Gum Wrapper

31 Jan

ImageHere’s the story: Micah gave Ashley a piece of key lime pie gum. You read that correctly: Key-Lime Pie flavored gum. Now I like Key-Lime pie and I chew gum. But combined it just sounds weird. For some reason, it inspired Ashley to write a poem on the gum wrapper.

Just so you would believe me, I took a picture of both. Here is what she wrote:

“The flavor was Key-Lime pie, But by & by, It slowly went away, Like night to day. I cried & cried, just as if my dear great aunt had died. But wait, glory be! “I have more gum” said he! Just like that my joy was back! My life is no longer black.”

I know, I know, don’t be embarrassed, I cried too. But there is more to the story. Ashley was given another piece of Key-Lime flavored gum which inspired another poem. Prepare yourself:

“The flavor was Key-Lime pie, & by & by, The flavor went, Although it was heaven sent. I cried my eyes, said my goodbyes, & threw it away.  But wait! Just let me say, it was nice to chew, piece number two. So thank you!”

I can confidently say that my life will never be the same.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 31, 2013 in Kids Stuff

 

Leave a Reply

 
