RSS

Dancing in Jazz

17 Mar

jazz_02Jesus: “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” (John 8:12)

I often think of life as a dance with God and those you love. But not so much a dance that has been choreographed ahead of time. When it’s been choreographed then I find that I tend to spend my time trying to remember each step. Then once the steps have been memorized I no longer have to think of each step but neither do I feel like I can get out of step, because everyone else is also moving in step with that one dance.

Worse of all, neither do I enjoy the dance any longer.

I like to think of life as a dance of jazz. That is when we are in the same key with God and others. When we are in the same key of love then we work in concert with one another. Sometimes I may be providing the layer underneath upon which others can thrive. At other times it is my turn to give great expression while others support and color in the detail. When I do life that way, even the mundane things seem to have added value.

“Lord, may I dance with you?” “Why yes,” he replies, “I thought you would never ask.” Now I am nervous and think to myself, “I thought I wasn’t good enough.” And almost as though he could read my thoughts He said, “I’ll lead. You follow.” And I was glad.

In no way am I advocating a do-your-own-thing type of life. I am suggesting that to follow the lead of Christ is simple and profound. Jesus: “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” (John 8:12) It is simple because how hard can it be to follow someone? It is profound because it touches and then penetrates every facet of your life.

To enjoy dancing in jazz requires that you trust His lead and commit yourself to follow Him. Some days feel like a ballad, or bebop, or the blues. Other days seem more like you’ve got some boogie-woogie, cross-rhythm, or free-jazz going on. Whatever the rhythm of the day or flavor of your emotions may be, follow His lead.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 17, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
