RSS

Transition: Terrifying and Exciting

26 Jul

ImageTransitions in life can be both terrifying and exciting at the same time. This is especially true when the change has to do with your work / career. I recently went through a significant transition in my ministry. Some of you can attest to the fact that this can be terrifying. However, when one chapter of life ends, another begins. As my wife says: You can’t start the next chapter of your life if you keep re-reading the last one.

Leading up to my major life transition I received some helpful and practical advice from trusted friends. In one conversation my friend began to give advice based on his life’s experiences and I pulled out a piece of paper and a pen.

As my friend and I talked over cups of coffee, I jotted down his words of wisdom. As it turns out these guidelines helped to keep me moving in the right direction. They were like bumpers on a bowling lane that keep the bowling ball from rolling into a gutter. I recall that on some days during the transition, it seemed that the best I could do is to move slowly forward, aided by his advice, gently nudging me back into the lane to continue forward progress.  Maybe it can help guide you as well.

These are in no particular order and written as they appear on my hand-written piece of yellow notepad paper. Here you go…

1. Kids – Make sure you are doing the right thing for your family.

2. Don’t rush into a new ministry (career).

3. Keep your confidence.

4. Your track record speaks highly of you. Get a number of people across the nation speaking on your behalf – Don’t Settle.

5. Keep doors of communication wide open.

6. As long as you can keep money coming in, stay in Orlando – do it (part of not settling but waiting on God). Keep kids busy and social.

7. Keep a list of good support people: Be vulnerable with trusted counselors and other professionals and invite them to speak into your situation. Make a list of good support people including friends, counselors, and other professionals.

8. Take advantage of all options…pray about everything…get word out that you are available to do what you do…follow up with contacts…

I am glad that I had that advice to bump up against. It was helpful for me and I think that it could be for you too.

“Plans fail for lack of counsel, but with many advisers they succeed.” – Solomon, Proverbs 15:22

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 26, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
